Data Revolution newsletter - Aug 2023

Handcrafted musings on the data revolution

G’day and welcome to my newsletter. This going to be a monthly (approximately) newsletter that will cover off:

  • Stuff that is on my mind about the state of the data revolution right now

  • Links to some things that I am finding interesting at the moment

  • Recap of recent podcast episodes

Thanks for subscribing and see you next time.

Stuff

Really all I have been thinking about how AI changes everything. I know that this is all that I have been talking about for a while (here is something from 2020). But it really does change everything. And we are going to need to sort out how we manage identity, privacy, secure our data and all of this when we are already not very good at it. I have some interesting guests coming up who will cover issues that you might not (yet) have considered as part of your data journey.

Some links from recent podcast episodes:

Latest episodes

Check out these fabulous guests:

  • My most recent guest was the amazing Peter Leonard. He is a guru in the legal data and tech space and one of my primary go-to people when I am thinking about data governance, data sharing, regulation, and AI ethics. We had a chat about some of the issues that folks are going to need to think about as we all wing our way into the AI era.

  • The guest prior to Peter was Khaled Auf, from Snowflake. We had a chat about the benefits of a bi-modal approach to delivering Analytics, BI and Data Science . We also touch on tri-modal approaches (and even coin the very innovative quad-modal approach 🤣).

  • Before Khaled my guest was Fiona Tweedie and we discussed the need for explainable AI.

Reply

or to participate.